Hip-hop heads, did you know that at one time, The Black Eyed Peas, arguably one of the world’s biggest and most successful hip-hop groups was signed to Eazy-E’s Ruthless Records?

That’s right. In the early ’90s, Black Eyed Peas members, will.i.am and apl.de.ap, along with members, Mookie Mook, DJ Motiv8 and Dante Santiago were part of a hip-hop group called A Tribe Beyond a Nation signed to Ruthless Records.

The group made their debut on Eazy-E’s 1992 EP, 5150: Home 4 tha Sick, featuring on the track “Merry Muthaphuckkin’ Xmas.” Unfortunately Eazy-E’s death in 1995 would signal the end of the group’s stay on Ruthless Records and they were dropped shortly after.

will.i.am and apl.de.ap would go on to recruit Taboo and later on Fergie to form The Black Eyed Peas and dominate the pop world with major hits like “Where Is the Love?,” “Shut Up,” “Boom Boom Pow” and “I Gotta Feeling.”

Source: AllMusic – The Black Eyed Peas

Written by Stop The Breaks
Stop The Breaks is an independent music marketing company focused on showcasing independent hip-hop artists. Our goal is to help motivate, inspire and educate independent artists grinding around the world. We provide branding, content marketing, social media, SEO and music promotion services.